McKinsey 7s Model


The McKinsey 7S framework was introduced in the late 70’s by McKinsey & Company (or the 80’s depending on who you’re inclined to listen to) as a model to understand and assess organisational effectiveness, and how well the organisation is setup / suited to achieving its specified objectives.

  • (Hard Component) Structure (ie how it will change)
  • (Hard Component) Strategy
  • (Hard Component) Systems (ie how they will support)
  • (Soft Component) Shared Value (ie guiding concepts of organisation)
  • (Soft Component) Style (ie how things get done round here)
  • (Soft Component) Staff (ie how they will react to change)
  • (Soft Component) Skills (ie organisational knowledge and staff talent)

The 7S framework is so titled as – unsurprisingly – there are 7 elements to the model, each of which being with the letter “S”. Of these 7S’s they are split into hard elements and soft elements. The hard categorisation relates to those elements that are easier to identify and influence, whereas the soft category refers to more intangible elements that can be considered the underpinning of the organisation. Although split into the two categories, it is important to state that hard are not considered better or more important than soft, nor vice versa.

The Hard S’s

  • Systems
  • Structure
  • Strategy

The Soft S’s

  • Skills
  • Staff
  • Style
  • Shared Values

About the author


I am London based Ecommerce Business Analyst & Technical Lead. Always keen to chat.